Editing & Archiving Meters
Meters typically can't be changed once created. Their display names can be updated, but things like their codename can't be changed retroactively since they might cause breaking changes in code integrations. However, we do allow for archiving and deleting meters. All of this can be done from the context menu for each meter on the Meters page.
Updating the display name of a meter allows you to update the name that shows up in places like price plans, invoices, and Octane components. It doesn't change how the meter is referenced in our API.
Deleting a meter totally removes it from our system. Meters can only be deleted if they were never used, or if they were used in a price plan that has never had a subscription.
Archiving a meter hides the meter from the UI and prevents it from being added to new price plans. It effectively deletes the meter, while allowing it to still be referenced from price plans without subscriptions, as well as invoices. An archived meter's codename is still reserved and can't be re-used by other meters in the future.